Until I See You, written and performed by Br. Ammar Al Shukry

I love this poem; it is about none other than our beloved Prophet Muhammad, peace and blessings be upon him. It was written by my respected brother, Ammar, a UConn Alum and former MSA president. I can take no credit in this, but I want to share my love and appreciation of the beautiful words Br. Ammar has put together. He has a true gift, mashaAllah. I loved this so much, I wanted to share it. The written poem does no justice to the spoken performance, and I encourage visitors to experience it, to hear it from the author himself:

Until I See You

You are the best person I’ve ever known.

Best friend, I’ve never met.

Your sincerity to me is blinding, enough to completely canvas the world with drapes that read: RESPECT, HONOR, LOVE, PROTECT.

While creating a window for me to zoom in on the important things…but, those are the things that I forget; or…neglect.

I will do better.

Your ummah is fine. Not because of me, or mine, or…wounds that heal with time. Those who would die for a dollar sign, but…because of promises divine.

So when we feel like we’re at our worst, and- our sadness would cause our hearts to burst, it feels like there there are times when there are angels within our lines.

Or hovering over squares with chants of freedom in the air…and though, tyrants may step on our necks…we smile.

For history has always been on our side,

YOURS is an ummah that simply DOES NOT DIE…

I…

am sorry for my weakness.

For every time I’ve been ashamed of your name and asked someone to call me “Mo.”

For, not knowing enough about you to defend you when they drew cartoons…

or, accused you with the most heinous of accusations…

For, not getting over my distaste of reading and waiting for Hollywood to put you on the big screens so I could know something about you.

As if Steven Spielberg, or Mel Gibson, or Johnny Depp

Would somehow be able to recreate the twinkle in your eye

Or a beautiful bead of sweat as it scaffolds on your forehead frantically fighting gravity not wanting to fall off your body.

I keep thinking of seeing you.

And if you would smile at me…

the thought gives me goosebumps.

You told me to meet you at the pool.

So on that day, I hope and pray that I will see you through the crowd.

That no angels barricade me as I sprint at breakneck speed…

I hope you recognize it’s me

I will crowd the companions to get access to your vision

I will obey my thirst by quenching it from your hands

So until that day…

I will pray.

I will stand, and I will pray, as if my feet are holding the earth from splitting.

If I make it…I cry at the thought of seeing you.

For, I know the words that I used to read from books with all too thin pages will do no justice

To your voice

Your scent

Your touch

Your face

My messenger of Allah has always existed between the curves and dots of the Arabic alphabet

So Muhammad ibn Abdillah, in 3-D…

and whatever other dimensions the hereafter brings with it

will be an overboard of senses.

I will fall in love with your shadow.

And will tell Ali that his description did not do justice

Tell my mother A’isha of how we heard her story of how you passed away between her chin…and her chest

over, and over, and over again.

And, it made us cry every

single

time

For we never suffered any disaster that was greater than what we suffered

before our souls merged with flesh…

of entering an earth that was with out you

Does the sky even recognize us anymore?

And I will sit in the shade of your smile.

And will ask you your story directly from your mouth

as we sip on salsabeel ice cold…

And will be terribly embarrassed, if you asked me for mine…cause

I never did anything right.

Other than loving you.

And then, if you let me…

I would LOVE

for a hug.

TAKBIR!

AllahuAkbar!

One thought on “Until I See You, written and performed by Br. Ammar Al Shukry”

Leave a comment